bbaGOLD uses standardised data classifications to allow the database to be filtered and analysed. For each event, the data fields build a summary picture of when, what, how and why an operational risk event occurred. Data fields fall into two types:

Taxonomy Fields Information Fields
(generic classification categories) (directly reported)
Business LineSummary description
Product or serviceDates (occurrence, detection)
Business functionAmounts (primary loss, recoveries, final loss)
Risk event typeGeographic location
Causal factors 
Failed controls 
Impact type (financial, reputational) 

Data submitted meets a predefined set of standards and is classified according to this bbaGOLD taxonomy, with all elements available on-line with detailed definitions, key words and guidance to assist data classification. Data are subjected to quality and completeness checks, consistency across classification attributes and anonymised to mask identifiable information.